Application Help

Getting Help With Your Application

If you’re having trouble with or have questions about your application,
the first place to seek help is your state ED – Green Ribbon contact. Schools apply to state departments of education for states’ nomination to the U.S. Department of Education (ED) and cannot apply directly to the Department for the award. Please inquire first with your state ED - Green Ribbon contact below if you are interested in applying to become a nominee or have questions about your state application. (If a state is not listed below, it did not sign up for the 2012 pilot yeat to participate in Green Ribbon.)

The following are the official ED- Green Ribbon contacts for each participating state department of education:

Alabama

Robin Nelson , Science Coordinator

(334) 353-9893 , rnelson@alsde.edu

Arizona

Milt Ericksen, Director of Outreach, Health and Nutrition section

ADEINBOX@azed.gov

Arkansas

Dr. Charles Stein

501-682-4261, charles.stein@arkansas.gov

California

Kathleen Seabourne, Administrator, Facilities Planning Policy and Standards Unit

916-323-3926, KSeabour@cde.ca.gov

Colorado

Lynn Bamberry, Director, Competitive Grants and Awards

303-866-6813, bamberry_l@cde.state.co.us

Delaware

Alison Kepner

akepner@DOE.K12.DE.US

District of Columbia

Sam Ullery, School Garden Specialist

(202) 741-6485, sam.ullery@dc.gov

Florida

Penny Detscher, Director – Office of Healthy Schools

Penny.Detscher@fldoe.org

Georgia

Matt Cardoza, Director of Communications

(404) 651-7358, mcardoza@doe.k12.ga.us

Hawaii

Randolph G. Moore, Assistant Superintendent

(808) 586-3488, Randy_Moore/OSFSS/HIDOE@notes.k12.hi.us

Illinois

Matt Vanover, Director of Public Information

(217) 782-4648, mvanover@isbe.net

Iowa

Gary Schwartz, Education Program Consultant

(515) 281-4743, Gary.Schwartz@iowa.gov

Kansas

Matt Krehbiel, Science Program Consultant

(785)296-8108, mkrehbiel@ksde.org

Kentucky

Paige Patterson-Grant

(502) 564-5279, Paige.Patterson@education.ky.gov

Louisiana

Jean May-Brett, STEM Partnership Coordinator

225.342.8993, jean.may-brett@la.gov

Maryland

Gary Hedges, Science Specialist

410.767.0323, ghedges@msde.state.md.us

Michigan

Patty Cantu, Director, Office of Career and Technical Education

517-241-2990, CantuP@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Jeff Ledermann, Environmental and Outdoor Education Coordinator

651-582-8602, jeff.ledermann@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Christine Philley, School Health Administrator

601-359-1737, CPhilley@mde.k12.ms.us

Missouri

Shaun Bates, Education Consultant

573.751.4445, shaun.bates@dese.mo.gov,

Nebraska

Jim Woodland

402.471.4329, Jim.Woodland@nebraska.gov

New Jersey

Michael Heinz, Science Coordinator

609.984.7453, michael.heinz@doe.state.nj.us

New York

Carl T. Thurnau, Director of Facilities

(518) 474-3906, CTHURNAU@MAIL.NYSED.GOV

North Carolina

Steve Zetts, Consulting Architect, School Planning

Steve.Zetts@dpi.nc.gov, 919.807.3565

North Dakota

Linda M. Paluck, Blue Ribbon Schools & Green Ribbon Schools

701-328-1718, lpaluck@nd.gov

Ohio

Kimberly Mullen, Assistant Director, Research and Resource Development

614-387-2275, Kimberly.Mullen@ode.state.oh.us

Oregon

Ed Dennis

503.551.8638, ed.dennis@state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Patricia L. Vathis, Environment and Ecology Curriculum Advisor

717.783.6994, pvathis@pa.gov

Rhode Island

Joseph Paul da Silva, School Construction Coordinator

(401) 222-4294, joseph.dasilva@ride.ri.gov

Utah

Shannon Buchanan, Science Education Specialist

801-538-7808, shannon.buchanan@schools.utah.gov

Virginia

Eric M. Rhoades, Science Coordinator

804.786.2481, Eric.Rhoades@doe.virginia.gov

Washington

Gilda Wheeler, Program Supervisor, Sustainability and Science

360.725.4976, Gilda.Wheeler@k12.wa.us

West Virginia

Mike Pickens, Executive Director, Office of School Facilities

304-558-5711, mepicken@access.k12.wv.us

Wisconsin

Victoria Rydberg, Environmental Education Consultant

608-266-0419, victoria.rydberg@dpi.wi.gov

Department of the Interior Bureau of Indian Education

Brandi Sweet, Program Analyst

202-208-5504, greenribbonschools@bie.edu


In addition, members of the GRSP will do their best to help you, given that no two state applications are exactly alike. Feel free to shoot a note with your questions to one of the following:

eco-schoolsusa@nwf.org (National Wildlife Federations’ Eco-Schools USA program), OR

education@earthday.org (Earth Day Network), OR

you can find out if your state has a chapter of the US Green Building Council here: www.usgbc.org/FindaChapter/ChapList.aspx, and email your state chapter contact directly.

 

Finally, many states have green school programs which can provide useful information and support for schools working to become a green school and/or applying for Green Ribbon. The following are links to many of these programs: